Hillsdale Environmental Commission

Natural Resource and Preservation Hillsdale, NJ

Who We Are

About the Hillsdale Environmental Commission

The Hillsdale Environmental Commission was established by ordinance in 1969, consistent with state law N.J.S.A. 40:56A-1 et seq. creating environmental commissions. The Commission is comprised of seven members (one of whom is also a member of the Planning Board), plus two alternates.  In addition, a member of the Town Council attends commission meetings and acts as a liaison between the Commission and the Council.

The role of the commission is to study, evaluate, and make recommendations to the Borough Council and the Planning Board regarding local environmental issues, including (but not limited to) the following topics: solid waste management and recycling; clean water resources; storm water management; energy conservation and renewable energy resources; air, noise, and light pollution; transportation and circulation planning; preservation and use of parks and other open spaces; land use; and protection of flora, fauna, soil and landscape throughout the Borough. In addition, they review the potential effects of site plan applications before the Planning and the Zoning Board.

The Hillsdale Environmental Commission also provides environmental information to residents and collaborates with other municipal organizations and groups on leading annual events, including Green Fairs, Town Wide Clean Up, Trail Restoration and Maintenance, Sustainability Efforts, Community and School Gardens and Educational Programs.  All meetings are open to the public and we welcome resident participation.  We meet the third Monday of the month at 7:00 pm in the Municipal Council chambers. Please stay informed of our efforts by following our blog at www.hillsdalenjec.org  Our email address is hec@hillsdalenj.org

Our Environmental Committee :

Chairwoman – Meredith Kates
Vice Chairman – Scott Raymond
Secretary – Scott Beckman
Owen Peacock
Fred Rubel
Owen Peacock
Nayda Rondon
Richard Savino
Charles DeFiglio – Alternate #1
Steve Goodman – Alternate #2
Jack Stubbs – Honorary

Abby Lundy – Council Liaison


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s